27 September 2012

Apple crisp!


It's nap time. I have a solid 40 minutes to myself - maybe 1.5hrs if I get lucky?

I've got a lot of rambling thoughts today.

But mostly I am just thinking about the delicious apple crisp I made last night. I basically had it for dinner...and breakfast too. Is that bad?

Fruit crisps beat a pie every time for me. They are much yummier. Yes, yummier is a word.

I think this one was so delicious because we added practically a whole stick of butter. Yum-o!

I followed the basic recipe off of this blog. And we added blueberries towards the end...because, well...I just forgot to put them in to begin with! :) And Dan smartly sprinkled some walnuts on top to make it extra crunchy.

Don't think I'm lying when I say I'm probably going to make another tonight. Hey - it only took two apples and was SUPER quick to make (which, is really important these days!)


25 September 2012

Raspberry peach freezer jam

Last summer, before we found out that little miss Mia was joining our family, I made the goal of wanting to learn how to preserve and store food.

I got a dehydrator for my birthday and promptly started drying loads of tomatoes and zucchini.

Being pregnant I didn't have too bad of morning sickness, but smells REALLY bothered me. The smell of drying tomatoes...well the thought of it now makes me want to gag. So I had to put the dehydrator away for a little while.

Thankfully, it's come out again this summer, but I haven't been too great with getting on the goal of preserving and storing.

So this week Dan and I started making monthly purchases of THRIVE foods to slowly build up some delicious food storage and....

...TODAY I finally dipped my toes into canning. Ok - well, it's not REAL canning, it's freezer jam. But it's the closest I've gotten to learning how to can...for now.

And it looks delicious....I can't wait to taste it!

RASPBERRY PEACH FREEZER JAM
from fresh garden raspberries and farmers market peaches (oh to have a peach tree...)

23 September 2012

Baby snorts

Amelia is sick.

Breaks my heart to hear her pathetic little coughs.

It's just a cold, but her first cold. So it's serious business.

She snorted and snurted all night last night. She had to sleep in her bouncy chair, as its elevated and allows her to breathe a little easier.

We finally had to purchase one of those nasal bulb aspirators. I guess we are real parents now. Once you own one of those, it's the real deal...

Poor babe.

20 September 2012

18 September 2012

Ofest 5k


My track star!
It's become a tradition to run the Oktoberfest 5k in Mt Angel every fall. This was my 4th year running...and Amelia's first!

I love my jogging stroller. 
So does A. 
 In fact, she took a little Oktoberfest 5k snooze as we hit mile 1.

I love my friends who join me every year too. 
We always go downtown afterwards and eat all the delicious food.

Its one of my favorite times of the year.

17 September 2012

Late Aug to Early Sept Harvests

Here are a bunch of harvests from the past month (I'm a little behind...)

Things are still a little slow around here compared to last year. But the weather is still nice, so I'm hoping for a few more decent harvests.

My zukes and squash JUST NOW finally started fruiting! I probably have almost 10 growing now...right when powdery mildew has set in. Figures.

Also, I got just a few cukes. The bugs just eat them up all early summer.

A few peppers are growing still.

Lots of onions are bulbous and aren't so pathetically small.

I think I've managed to actually grow a few nicely sized beets! Wahoo!

And best news...I finally got a few carrots to grow!!!!! If only I could remember when I planted them for next year...oops? Maybe end of July/early Aug?

We have tons of raspberries which are giving us a nice breakfast treat each morning.

NEXT YEAR

I like all my tomato choices. Stupice is nice and plentiful and I think I'd get more if it wasn't in a pot. The early Oregon cherry didn't do well. Maybe try it in ground next year too. Cherokee purple ended up too shaded next to the beans - only 1 fruit so far and it's still green! I miss the romas.

I should space out the pole beans a bit more and use more trellising.

A whole front bed of bush beans was perfect!

Also, the peas were good.

More hot pepper plants! Since I only get 1-3 peppers per plant, I should just try and grow a bunch from seed.

FALL/WINTER
The past few weeks I planted more lettuce, arugula and spinach. It's doing well in the shaded bed. I should plant more!

I transplanted some Chinese cabbage in a few different areas. Its doing very well, but I hope it'll grow fast enough before its too cold.

Transplanted some onion starts. Doing ok?? Will they make it through the winter?

I need a place for my garlic which goes out in about a month.

14 September 2012

Bottle it all up.


There are moments during the day that just need to be bottled up and saved forever. 

Tiny little moments, that tug on my heart in such a magnificent way.

I hate that things get forgotten.
How can I remember all these bottle-worthy moments? It's a little overwhelming to try and remember them all.

So for now, I'll do my best to remember that quirky little smile, or the way you twisted your whole body trying to roll over and look in your momma's eyes. Or the silly game we played as you pretended to nurse, but you really just wanted to be held close to me and giggle.

Sigh.

12 September 2012

4 months

 
This has been the fastest 4 months of my life.
 
I am so proud of my little girl and all the awesome things she is learning, but I am desperately clinging to ever single moment.
 
I love being her momma.
Nothing is better than the way that she looks at me.
 
She is so full of happiness.
We might have had a rough week a little bit ago, but this girl is nothing but smiles now.
Even when she's upset, she will still crack a smile at us.
 
I just can't believe how much I love this little thing.
 
Yesterday, while playing with her I suddenly realized that all I've done the past 4 months is hang out with a baby - and I've been perfectly content and entertained. It's awesome.
 
This morning Dan took her out to run some errands, while I had a quick Relief Society meeting at the house. After everyone left and he wasn't home yet, I realized that this was the first time I've been home and not had her with me. It was strange. I couldn't wait for them to get home!
 
At 4 months she is super inquisitive!
Her favorite thing to do is to smile at someone and try to get them to smile back.
 
She is still drooling. A LOT.
But no teeth yet!
 
She's "found" her little feet (I've been waiting for this!)
 
She can now sit with very little support.
She's pretty good in the Bumbo seat.
 
She can really grab her toys now and flail them all around.
 
She can almost roll over back to tummy. I seriously thought she was going to do it today, but it didn't happen.
 
She still sleeps decently.
I've been trying really hard to get her to take good naps since her fussy period a few weeks ago.
She still goes to bed around 7:30-8, but lately she's been waking up more than once during the night (4 month sleep regression??). This is kind of frustrating for me since I got used to finally getting more sleep, but I'm patiently hoping we can go back to just waking up around 4:30-5 and then back to bed!
 
Other things:
 
she likes licks from Lily
she makes all sorts of cooing noises
blows spit bubbles
is 2 feet tall
does the baby push-up during tummy time
actually giggles/laughs with dad
had an awesome puke all over dad's beard one morning
likes to hang her head off my arm when getting rocked
laughs at the baby in the mirror
pulls moms hair
plays a little smiling game with mom while nursing
still fits in 0-3m and 3m clothes
 
We are still having the best time of our lives!
 
Links to months 3, 2, and 1.